JCC Wrestlers win 3A title advance to State Semi-finals

Mon 3-15-2021

Jackson County Central won the Section 3A title and their State Preliminary match on Saturday in St. James.  The Huskies topped Minneota for the 3A title 33-28.  Nolan Ambrose, Thomas Freking, Payton Handevidt and Caleb Vancura all won by fall for JCC.  Kei Anderson, Logan Butzon and William Freking each won by decision against the Vikings.

In the State Preliminary match, JCC topped Kenyon-Wanamingo 45-30.  Nolan Ambrose, Logan Butzon, Payton Handevidt, William Freking and Caleb Vancura all won by fall.  Kie Anderson, Trey Rossow and Thomas Freking won by major decisions and Matt Haley won by decision.

The Huskies are now 31-3 on the season and will next wrestle in the Class A Semi-finals on Saturday, March 27th.  Other semi-finalists are Kimball Area, Royalton-Upsala and Bertha-Hewitt/Verndale/Parkers Prairie.


Section 3A Championship

Jackson County Central 33, Minneota 28
106 – Nolan Ambrose (JCC) over Destin Fier (Minneota) Fall 1:32
113 – Kie Anderson (JCC) over Peyton Gillund (Minneota) Dec 4-0
120 – Troy Van Keulen (Minneota) over Seth Stai (JCC) Dec 7-5
126 – Logan Butzon (JCC) over Eric Carrasco (Minneota) Dec 4-3
132 – Thomas Freking (JCC) over Eli Gruenes (Minneota) Fall 1:52
138 – Kade Lozinski (Minneota) over Dylan Withers (JCC) Dec 4-0
145 – Zack Fier (Minneota) over Coltan Bents (JCC) Dec 10-6
152 – Alex Depestel (Minneota) over Isaiah Rodriguez (JCC) Dec 16-15
160 – Jonah Gruenes (Minneota) over Matthew Haley (JCC) Maj 11-3
170 – Payton Handevidt (JCC) over Branden Johnson (Minneota) Fall 1:50
182 – William Freking (JCC) over Hudson Scholten (Minneota) Dec 8-2
195 – Caleb Vancura (JCC) over Conner Sik (Minneota) Fall 1:40
220 – Jackson Esping (Minneota) over Tycin Bejarano (JCC) Fall 0:25
285 – Jayden Gamrak (Minneota) over Trace Michelson (JCC) Fall 3:27


State Preliminary match

Jackson County Central 45, Kenyon-Wanamingo 30
106 – Nolan Ambrose (JCC) over Tate Miller (K-W) Fall 1:19
113 – Gavin Johnson (K-W) over Benjamin Dahlin (JCC) Fall 1:09
120 – Kie Anderson (JCC) over Trent Foss (K-W) Maj 18-8
126 – Trey Rossow (JCC) over Landon Trump (K-W) Maj 12-2
132 – Logan Butzon (JCC) over Kiefer Olson (K-W) Fall 1:06
138 – Thomas Freking (JCC) over Alec Johnson (K-W) Maj 9-0
145 – Jaedin Johnson (K-W) over Coltan Bents (JCC) Fall 1:17
152 – Bray Olson (K-W) over Isaiah Rodriguez (JCC) Fall 3:05
160 – Matthew Haley (JCC) over Tyler Craig (K-W) Dec 8-6
170 – Payton Handevidt (JCC) over Gage Thompson (K-W) Fall 1:02
182 – William Freking (JCC) over Dillon Bartel (K-W) Fall 2:58
195 – Carter Quam (K-W) over Micheal Hansen (JCC) Fall 0:14
220 – Caleb Vancura (JCC) over Logan Meyers (K-W) Fall 0:36
285 – Armani Tucker (K-W) over Trace Michelson (JCC) Fall 2:30