Jackson Golf Club holds club tourneys

Tue 8-20-2019

JACKSON - Brett Benson won his record-breaking 10th Jackson Golf Club men's club tournament this weekend. Kristin Hanson won her first women's club title.

Benson pulled away from a tight group with an opening nine of five-under par 32 Sunday morning. After Saturday’s round, Benson held a one-stroke lead over Tanner Polz, two over Tommy Evans and four over Austin Olson and Brent Chozen.

Benson finished with a 39 Sunday for a 76 on the day and a two-day total of one-under 147.

Chozen, who has won nine club titles himself, shot a 77 Sunday to finish with a 157 for second place. It’s estimated Chozen has finished in the top five 35 times in the club tournament.

Polz finished third with a 158, while Jerrod Hansen and Kip Wachal tied for fourth with 159s. Rounding out the top 10 were Dustin Pohlman (161), Mike Wierson (164), Evans (166), Olson and Nick Arp (167).

For the first time ever, the tournament featured a two-day first flight with Ron Hash shooting rounds of 78 and 80 for a 158 to claim the overall first flight championship.

The flight was split into the Senator’s flight and Mayor’s flight after Saturday’s scores.

Hash won the Senator’s flight with Kevin Nelson finishing second (170) and Cade Hagen third (174).

Nate Pigman, Ed Gallagher and Jeremy Boogerd all shot two-day total of 179 to finish tied atop the Mayor’s flight.

The second, third and fourth flights all played on Sunday only in an 18-hole format.

Wade Wacker (88) edged Keith Rubis (89) for the second flight title, with Nolan Schuller (93) taking third.

Kevin Holm and Mike Johnson tied for the third flight championship with 94s. Trent Sukalski took third with a 97.

Scott Dougherty won the fourth flight with a 99. Mark Leach shot 100 for second and Chris Perkins 101 for third.

A total of 56 men played in the event, believed to be the largest field in more than 20 years.

Women's tourney

Kristin Hanson won the women's club title Saturday.

Hanson and Jodi Edlin each shot an 89, with Hanson winning based on handicap hole.

Kelly Benson (92) was third. She remains tied with LeeAnn Steen and Linda Handevidt for the most women's club titles with eight.

Jan Fransen (94) was fourth, Scarlet Thorston (95) fifth and Tara Boogerd (100) sixth.